New Years 2008

For New Years Eve we were invited to the Davis Family Home. Joe and Monica are good friends of ours. Joe went to grade school with Brian and they have been good friends for a very long time. He went off to college and became and lawyer working as a district attorney in Portland for some time. Then, after many years single, loads of cash in the bank, he up and decided to quit his job and live in Europe for a period of time (I think it was 2 maybe 3 years). There, he met his stunning wife, Monica and they ended up marrying and moving back to the states. He is a fantastic lawyer here in town and his wife (who has an MBA) runs the marketing for La Clinica, a clinic that serves the poor and hispanic population. They are a dynamic couple and just had their 2nd baby. We had lots of good foods to eat and the kids even made their own pizza.

122007-new-years-eve-party-004.jpg122007-new-years-eve-party-001.jpg122007-new-years-eve-party-006.jpg

The most comical thing of the night was that this party was planned to last until 12:30am. They even had an area for children to fall asleep in and everything. By 9:30pm, all three families said their goodbyes. So much being the party animals we once were. Brian was on call and made it to the last 30 minutes of the party but the kids and I had a blast.

12008-new-years-day-at-the-wallaces-002.jpg

Then, New Years Day we were invited to the Wallace Home for dinner. We felt very loved this holiday season. Dinner was delicious and even included a very illegal fireworks display afterwards. It was the first time in my adult life that as a parent I was a bit freaked out by the show, fearing for my children’s lives!!! It’s amazing how as you age your perceptions change.

 So, with the new year, I am changing my usual mode of what I will aspire to accomplish to some more down to earth goals. I was inspired by my sister-in-law Liz. Here are some of my New Years Resolutions.

1. Finish Lizzie and Sophie’s baby books

2. Bike to Ashland (I can already make it to Talent)

3. Read more to my kids

4.Learn several new recipes that my family will eat

5. Ride horses with Brian more

6. Clean my master bathroom more

7. Clean my house less

8. Yell less

9. Giggle more

That’s the list!

2 responses to “New Years 2008

  1. Please don’t yell less. I don’t want to be the nly mom left who still yells (this is probably the wrong parenting philosophy to have!).

  2. Regarding Sarah’s comment, from a former very big time yeller, I used to feel guilty thinking “reproving betimes with sharpness” meant reproving occasionally. I learned on “Free rice’ that betimes means quickly. I did that for sure! Trouble is that D&C quote continues with “when moved upon by the Holy Ghost” – I yelled way too much and wish I hadn’t. Lizzie got me going at her birthday party last month and it all came back, the reason I was a yeller. It’s hard to be calmly patient. You are all wonderful mothers.

Leave a Reply

