Not Yelling

images11.jpg

My personal goal every day is to not yell at my kids. It’s a constant prayer in my heart yet everyday (by about 4pm), I have had it with my kids. Yes, I do have 4 kids under the age of 6 but that part is really not that hard and certainly can not be an excuse. Since getting home from Portland I have been ultra diligent at speaking in kind and calm words to my kids. I actually had a really good Sunday and Monday. By Tuesday I was getting bad and by today at 4pm, I was yelling. Here were the quotes I must have said several dozen times just today before the yells began:

“Stop fighting!”

“Don’t climb on that!”

“Don’t climb out of that!”

“It IS TOO fair!”

“No you can’t have that candy at the the checkstand!”

“Let go of it….”

“Stop hitting your sister.”

“Get out of the candy cupboard!”

“No you can’t play at her house.”

“No you can’t have him over to our house.”

“Turn off the lights when you’re done in the playroom!”

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!  Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!  Ok……I feel better. Remember that commercial where you see the lady in the tub and she says, “Calgon take me away!” Well, here is where I desperately need my version of this! I need to focus on my happy place before responding to my children. AND, truth be told, we (my kids and I) all need a nap. Now that I have re-written this goal and made it public for all bloggers to see, I will be more committed to not yelling.

 Well, I got to go…..one of the kids is out of her room for the 5th time tonight and I got to go yell……er….gently remind her that it is still bedtime.

One response to “Not Yelling

  1. paperdietbooks

    Just wanted to let you know…I’m feeling your pain. 🙂

    Stacey @ happyarewe.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

