My Little Dancers

342007-024-2.jpg  One of my girls favorite activities is to go to their Nana’s house. She feeds them green yogurt, pops them ‘light butter” popcorn, puts apple juice in 25 year-old cow mugs, puts on a VHS movie, gives them stickers, but most importantly, let’s them explore their Aunt Anne’s bedroom. You see, Aunt Anne was a dancer and in her old bedroom there are several dance pictures, posters, and most importantly, the shrine of old ballet shoes dangling from a ribbon in a far corner. Each time the girls are in this room they ask their Nana, no, they BEG their Nana to bring down the shoes for them to see. Occasionally she will bring a pair down for them to look at. They become entranced by the shoes. Now, their mother was not, never was interested, nor even remotely capable of floating like a dancer. And the thought never occurred to me (despite this persistent interest my daughters had in Anne’s dance clothing/shoes for the past 2 years), that they might enjoy a little ballerina outfit with leotards.

342007-026-1.jpgWell, one day while at Target (my favorite store in this world where I make most of my frivolous purchases). I came across some inexpensive ballerina clothing. My girls were with me and I asked them if they would like some pretty dancing clothes. You would have thought it was Christmas. They came home squealing, changed their clothes immediately, and floated around my house for days. They even took my CD player and played a CD called Beethoven’s Wig given to me by my sister-in-law Kathryn and danced to it. Sophie still begs daily to wear her dance clothing. They are so cute.

So now, I have come to the realization that I have two very girly girls who love make-up, cute clothing, my one pair of high heels, and dancing. I might learn a few things about being more girly/ladylike from them. For now, they sure are cute little dancers.

6 responses to “My Little Dancers

  1. Jill,

    I found your link on Anne’s blog…
    Your little girls are darling in their dancing clothes! I too loved Anne’s room when we were in high school. I was so jealous that she had her own room and I thought I was so cool! Her big bed, big mirror and all the cool trinkets on her dresser had me a little jealous…Aunt Anne is the coolest! And what color are those walls?? We are moving to a new place we need to paint and you know how terrible it is to pick colors…so please…DO TELL!! I like it.

    I hope you don’t mind that I linked over…you are one of my favorites!

    Kate

    ps target is probably one of the greatest stores around!!

  2. Do you guys already have the book Fancy Nancy? It is the perfect one for these cuties! I’m sure they’ll want to play basketball, too, Jill!

  3. Jill, Lizzie and Sophie actually wear Anne’s old toe shoes, even though too big. And they don’t ask any more, they just take them off the wall. And note to Kate, are you asking about the walls in Anne’s old room, (where I am now sitting because the computer is in here)? Just some warm off white, but don’t forget the peachy wall paper! With some green of course.

  4. The girls are so cute. It’s fun to see what you’re up to. Wish we weren’t so far away. Are you coming for Grandpa’s 90th Birthday? We’d love to see you!

  5. As much as I do love the peachy wall paper in Anne’s room (how could I forget!) I’m curious about the wall color in the pictures in this post, right behind Lizzie and Sophie…

  6. Hi Jill,
    I found you on Anne’s site, and I was so happy to see your cute girls! I can’t believe how old they getting…I guess that’s what happens huh;) They are both darling. Anyway, just wanted to say hi, and that I still think of you and Brian (and a little bit monster’s inc.) every time I watch Conference. Now WE live right by Temple Square. Funny how life works out.

Leave a Reply

